The Barossa

The Barossa is arguably the most famous Australian wine region. The Barossa includes both Barossa Valley and Eden Valley, making it one of the only areas in Australia to have neighbouring warm and cool climate growing conditions. Home to approximately 13,000 hectares of vineyards, the Barossa is most well-known for Shiraz, as well as Grenache, Cabernet Sauvignon, Riesling and Chardonnay.

The Signature Vineyard

In 2015, Yalumba began planting 72,000 vines in the famous Light Pass subregion of the Barossa Valley. Planted here are 16 different Shiraz and five different Cabernet Sauvignon clones, sourced from the Yalumba Nursery – the result of more than 10 years’ work and 170 years of experience. The Signature vineyard is a contemporary site designed to allow for climate change for the next 100 years.

Yalumba The Signature vineyard article image

The Tri-Centenary Vineyard

The Tri-Centenary vineyard was planted in 1889 and boasts some of the some of the oldest Grenache vines in the world. To define what we mean by ​‘old vines’, the Hill-Smith family set up the Old Vine Charter. As a Tri-Centenary vineyard, the life of these vines has spanned more than three centuries.

The age of the vines and the large area of topsoil can result in vines producing larger grapes during the wet winters and springs in the Barossa. They use minimal irrigation management practices to keep grapes smaller and increase the intensity of flavours.

Tri centenary vineyard the barossa article image